Mathematician Dr. Amalendu Krishna wins 2015 Ramanujan Prize


i. Mathematician Dr. Amalendu Krishna has won the Ramanujan Prize for year 2015. He has been bestowed with this award for his outstanding contributions in the area of algebraic cycles, algebraic K-theory and the theory of motives.
ii. Presently, Dr. Krishna is mathematician professor at the Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai. He hails from Bihar and had completed his early college and schooling education there.
iii. Ramanujan Prize was established in 2005. It is named after the noted Indian mathematician Srinivasa Ramanujan. It recognizes a researcher from a developing country who has conducted outstanding research in a developing country and is less than 45 years of age.
iv. Dr. Krishna is the second Indian to win this award. First was Sujatha Ramadorai who had won it in 2006.



Leave a Reply

Be the First to Comment!

Notify of
Skip to toolbar